• 0 Tracks
  • Release Date: February 16, 2007

The Mighty Wurlitzer–A Symphonic Celebration
4/38 Wurlitzer Theatre Pipe Organ
Hardman Music Studio
Great Falls, Virginia

The Mighty Wurlitzer-A Symphonic Celebration is the inaugural recording of the 4-manual 38-rank Wurlitzer theatre pipe organ in the music studio of Jack and Mildred Hardman in Great Falls, Virginia.

This instrument, formerly owned by Richard “Dick” Simonton (founder of the American Theatre Organ Society), is a highly refined, beautiful instrument capable of performing a vast array of musical styles.  The album showcases the diverse sounds of the Hardman Wurlitzer and amply demonstrates that it is one of the finest instruments anywhere in the world.

The album also features the first-ever recording on theatre pipe organ of the complete Piano Concerto in A Minor by Edvard Grieg, with Jelani Eddington performing both the solo piano and the orchestra score.

Selections feautred on this album include:

    • Johnny One Note
    • The Galloping Comedians
    • Love, Look Away
    • El Relicario
    • A Tribute To The Music Of Frank Sinatra
      • Come Fly With Me
      • The Lady Is A Tramp
      • My Funny Valentine
      • Chicago
      • It’s All Right With Me
      • At Long Last Love
      • New York, New York
    • Over The Rainbow
    • Piano Concerto in A Minor Op. 16 (Edvard Grieg)*
      • Movement 1 (Allegro Molto Moderato)
      • Movement 2 (Adagio)
      • Movement 3 (Allegro Moderato Molto e Marcato)

*(Orchestral score and solo piano performed by Jelani Eddington)