• 22 Tracks
  • Release Date: October 23, 2015

Pipe Organ Extravaganza VI
The Greatest Generation – Music Of The 40s & 50s

4/27 Grande Barton Theatre Pipe Organ
5/80 Sanfilippo Wurlitzer Theatre Pipe Organ
Walker Digital Organ
Petroff Grand Piano

Recorded live at the annual “Rialtofest” concert on April 27, 2002, this 2-CD set features over two hours of exciting music, showcasing the solo organ performances of Jelani Eddington and the “dynamic duo” performances with pianist David Harris, including their 15-minute tribute to the Broadway music of American songwriter Richard Rodgers. Other world-class organists featured on this recording include Charlie Balogh, Ron Reseigh, and Rob Richards. The DePaul University Wind Symphony and Jazz/Big Band Ensemble make special apparances as well.

The instruments featured in the recording of the sixth annual Rialtofest include the 4-manual 27-rank Grande Barton theatre pipe organ, a 3-manual Walker digital theatre organ, and a 9-foot Petroff grand piano. As an added bonus, this recording features a performance from the late George Wright, as well as several selections from the April 28, 2002 concerts by Charlie Balogh and Rob Richards at the 5-manual 80-rank Wurlitzer theatre pipe organ at the Sanfilippo residence in Barrington, Illinois.

The selections on this recording include:

Jelani Eddington & David Harris (Grande Barton & Petroff Concert Grand Piano)

  • Another Openin’ Another Show (Jelani solo)
  • The Petite Waltz (duo with David Harris)
  • Richard Rodgers On Broadway (duo with David Harris) (including Falling In Love With Love, Getting To Know You, Bali H’ai, How Long Can Love Survive?, Surrey With A Fringe On Top, Love Look Away, Maria, You’ll Never Walk Alone)

Charlie Balogh (Grande Barton & 5/80 Sanfilippo Wurlitzer)

  • On The Town (Rialto Barton)
  • Big Band Medley: April In Paris, Cute, Silk Stockings (with DePaul Jazz/Big Band Orchestra)
  • Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans (Sanfilippo Wurlitzer)
  • Pure Imagination (Sanfilippo Wurlitzer)

Rob Richards (Walker digital theatre organ & 5/80 Sanfilippo Wurlitzer)

  • Takin’ A Chance On Love (Rialto Walker)
  • Bewitched (Rialto Walker)
  • Medley From “Dumbo” (Rialto Walker)
  • Body And Soul (Sanfilippo Wurlitzer)
  • Forgotten Melody (Sanfilippo Wurlitzer)
  • Jalousie (Sanfilippo Wurlitzer)

George Wright (by recording)

  • Tico Tico

Ron Reseigh (Walker digital theatre organ)

  • South
  • It’s Alright With Me
  • Boogie

Grand Finale – All Artists and DePaul University Wind Ensemble And Jazz/Big Band Ensemble

  • Armed Forces Medley
  • Strike Up The Band
  • Stars & Stripes Forever

This recording is available as a 2-CD set.