• 12 Tracks
  • Release Date: April 01, 2009

From This Moment On
3-manual 19-rank Wurlitzer Theatre Pipe Organ
Akron Civic Theatre
Akron, Ohio

From This Moment On features the 3/19 Wurlitzer theatre pipe organ at the beautiful Akron Civic Theatre in the first recording since the instrument was refurbished in 2000. The instrument speaks into a spacious atmospheric theatre in the heart of downton Akron, Ohio, and gives the listener a thrilling experience of a mighty Wurlitzer in a large movie palace.

It is a rare treat to hear a mighty Wurlitzer in a theatre, and an even rarer treat to hear such an instrument in its original home. Yet, the Akron Civic Wurlitzer has been entertaining theatre patrons by the thousands since June 1929. Originally a 3-manual 13-rank instrument, the organ was rebuilt and expanded in 2000 under the tonal direction of Lyn Larsen.

This album showcases many musical styles, ranging from light orchestral favorites through music of the 1930s through the 1990s.

Selections featured on this album are:

  • From This Moment On
  • Hopelessly Devoted To You
  • That’s How Young I Feel
  • Ribbons Down My Back
  • Celebrating The Music Of Bette Midler
    • Chapel Of Love
    • The Wind Beneath My Wings
    • Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy
    • The Rose
    • From A Distance
  • Chicken Reel (L. Anderson)
  • Lullaby Of The Drums*
  • Youth Of Britain (March)*
  • Song On The Sand
  • Medley From “Chicago”
    • And All That Jazz
    • Funny Honey
    • When You’re Good To Mama
    • Razzle Dazzle
    • Nowadays
  • I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
  • Hoe-down (from “Rodeo”) (A. Copland)