• 27 Tracks
  • Release Date: October 07, 2015

Battle Of The Big Bands!
The Sixteenth Annual Pipe Organ Extravaganza Rialto Square Theatre Joliet, Illinois

4/27 Grande Barton Theatre Pipe Organ
Allen GW-4 Digital Theatre Organ
Allen 311Q Digital Theatre Organ
Steinway Model D Concert Grand Piano
5/80 Wurlitzer Theatre Pipe Organ
Sanfilippo Estate,Ā Barrington, Illinois

Battle Of The Big Bands! was the theme for the sixteenth annual Pipe Organ Extravaganza concert at the beautiful Rialto Square Theatre in Joliet, Illinois. This special 2-CD album features over 135 minutes of music by legendary organists Jelani Eddington, Chris Gorsuch, Dave Wickerham and Chris Elliott. The recording also features performances of the swing band, The John Burnett Orchestra.

Beginning with a sensational debut in 1996, the Rialtofest concert series has drawn capacity audiences into the Rialto Sqaure Theatre each year since. Recorded live on April 30, 2011, this album features breathtaking performances you won’t want to miss.

Relive the magic of this special musical event in a recording that captures the period stylings of a swing-band reminiscent of the great big bands of the 1940s.

The selections on this recording are:

Disc One (63:01)

  • On A Wonderful Day Like Today (All)
  • Flight Of The Foo Birds (JBO)
  • You Make Me Feel So Young (RJE)
  • Plink, Plank, Plunk (CG & RJE)
  • My Heart Will Go On (RJE)
  • Star Wars Symphonic Suite (RJE)
  • Everything’s Coming Up Roses (CE)
  • Kings Row (CE)
  • I’ll Be Seeing You (CE)
  • Sentimental Journey (DW)
  • Moonlight Serenade (DW)
  • Phantom Of The Opera Medley (DW)
  • Warm Breeze (JBO)
  • Harlem Nocturne (All)

Disc Two (72:01)

  • Love For Sale (All)
  • Things Ain’t What They Used To Be (JBO)
  • Gypsy In My Soul (CG)
  • All The Things You Are (CG)
  • Chopsticks Theme & Variations** (DW)
  • Darktown Strutters’ Ball** (DW)
  • Take Five** (CG)
  • Yours Is My Heart Alone** (CG)
  • Take The A Train (DW)
  • Somewhere In Time** (DW)
  • Hymn Medley** (DW)
  • Warsaw Concerto (RJE & CG)
  • The Stars And Stripes Forever (All)


All=Entire Ensemble, RJE=Jelani Eddington, CG=Chris Gorsuch, CE=Chris Elliott, DW=Dave Wickerham ** recorded at the 5/80 Sanfilippo Residence Wurlitzer theatre pipe organ.

This recording is available as a special 2-CD commemorative album.